Giant’s Causeway: April 1

This was just a rough start.
Our tour began at 6AM! I was not okay with this….
Then we took a bus into the city center to catch another bus to Belfast.
When we got to the bus we were told they had over booked and were flipping a coin to see who got to get on the bus. Our bus driver should have been scared for his life if I did not get on that bus. I don’t get up that early for no reason! We made it on to the bus and I immediately fell asleep. 1. I was tired from London 2. I didn’t want to listen to our driver rant for hours!

Our first stop was Carrick-a-rede Rope Bridge. It is a famous rope bridge near Ballintoy in County Antrim, Northern Ireland. The bridge links the mainland to the tiny island of Carrickarede. It spans 20 metres and is 30 metres above the rocks below. It was extremely windy and my choice of sweatpants was staring to become a regret. (Not only because i got made fun of the entire day, but I was scared they may turn into parachute pants & I would blow away!) After freezing up in the center & being coaxed off, I thought about staying on the tiny island just to not have to walk across it again! Even though it was over cast and windy the place was beautiful! The water was clear blue, I could see to the bottom for miles. You could also see Scotland from the island. It was all breathtaking!

We got back on the bus and made out way to Giant’s Causeway. On the way we heard the great story of Finn MacCool, a giant in Ireland, trying to reach a giant in Scotland. So, they made a path to connect the two countries. The story ended with the pathway being torn up by the Scottish giant when he was running in fear form Finn.
I wasn’t expecting much when I saw the Causeway, but it was magnificent. Pictures definitely do not do it justice! We spent our time hiking all the way around it to get a good look, but it wasn’t until we were right at it that I saw how great it was. The rocks were circular and fit perfectly together.

10050_10151588899578698_369211580_n 17316_10151588898358698_1862555764_n

After the Cause we spent an hour or so in Belfast eating hot fudge sundays & brownies before the longgg bus ride home to Dublin. Our bus driver was growing on me at this point. He kept the entire bus entertained buy singing Irish tunes & Shakira. Any man who is willing to sing Shakira is fine by me!

Leave a Reply

