Cork to Blarney to Cobh (February 9 & 10, 2013)

I had the most amazing weekend!

It started by waking up at 6:30 Saturday morning & taking a 3 hour bus ride to Cork on the southern part of the island. We spent the day enjoying the city & I had my first experience in a hostel. Happy to say the Cork is a beautiful city (much cheaper than Dublin) & the hostel wasn’t awful!

On Sunday we split up and most went home to Dublin to watch the England vs. Ireland rugby game. I still don’t know who won, I’m too scared to ask and the answer be Ireland lost. People here are serious about their rugby! Kathleen, Olivia, Emily and myself booked a bus to Blarney to Cobh and back to Cork. We were on a mission.

One of the first things I was told when people heard I was coming to Ireland was that I HAD to kiss the Blarney Stone! I’m glad I took everyone’s advice, because Blarney Castle is one of the prettiest sights I have ever seen & kissing the stone was a huge rush!

The funny part is no one actually knows the story behind the stone. There are a few different myths, which you can research yourself, but any person you ask here will give you a different response than the last. All I know is that you have to bend over backwards to kiss the stone. Literally. You lie on your back and slide backwards until you’re hanging over the edge of the castle, 90 feet in the air, and give the stone a quick peck! According to legend once you kiss the stone you will have the gift of eloquence!  Kissing the stone is on Discovery’s Channel ’s list of 99 Things To Do Before You Die, so I guess I can go ahead and check that one off!

After we all kissed the stone we continued to tour the castle & walk the grounds. We even made a wish on the wishing steps and left and offering to the witch! “When in Ireland, do as the Irish do!”

Around 14:00 (2:00pm), we hoped the bus to Cobh. Pronounced “Cove”, the Irish language doesn’t have the letter V so they substitute BH! This is a small Island off the southern coast. It is the site of the last place the Titanic left before it sank & also the Lusitania sank not to far from the coast. There is a memorial in the center of the city for the Lusitania & a museum dedicated to the Titanic. 

We toured through the museum and were given a ticket to board the Titanic as one of the people who actually did. Once you finished the tour, you got to find out the story of your person. The museum is set up in the actual port. So, I stood in the footsteps of the passengers & their families when they said goodbye. We were taken into rooms meant to be the bedrooms and dining halls for the 3rd class (since most who left from Cobh were 3rd class). It gave me chill bumps, it was too real. We even got to experience what it was like being in one of the life boats, watching the Titanic sink before our eyes. When I got to the end I found out my passenger lived, she was on life boat 16! I didn’t leave the museum dry eyed.

We made it back to Cork around 16:00 (4:00pm), and back to Dublin by 20:00 (8:00pm). Then of course we had a nice 45 minute walk home. The sights I saw & felt this weekend were unforgettable. It all reminded me that I am so grateful that God placed me on this earth at this place in this moment.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

2 thoughts on “Cork to Blarney to Cobh (February 9 & 10, 2013)

  1. AMAZING WEEKEND. soak up all you can. be careful about giving offerings to the witch , even if it is the custom. Remember God is watching after you.

Leave a Reply

