Day o’ firsts!

Today I experienced a lot of firsts!

  • Went on my first trian ride.
  • Saw my first castle
  • Ate my first fish and chips!!
  • Ran all the way from the city center to campus for the first time!

I guess you could chalk it up to an eventful day!

Emily, Kathleen & I left campus around 10:00 and caught a bus to the train station, where we had to wait for 45 minutes for the dart (train) to Malahide.

When we finally made it to Malahide we took a short & windy walk down to the coast, and when I say windy I mean blustering winds! Needless to say that was a short walk.

We came back into the village and walked to the Malahide Castle. It was €12 to tour the castle so we settled for the €5 walk through the garden. This was probably not very smart on our part considering it is winter!

My favorite part of the day was when we finally settled into Duffy’s for some fish and chips!

I’m usually not a fish person, but today it hit the spot!

Around 3:00 I caught the train back to Dublin, and Kathleen & Emily stayed behind! The lucky ducks didn’t have class at 4:00

The part I didn’t count on was there not being a bus when I got back to Dublin at 3:30, so I had a jog a quick 2 miles to make it to class. Guess who was only 5 minutes late? 🙂

“Rolling over the river” on my first train!

“Rolling over the river” on my first train!

Coast of Ireland

Coast of Ireland

Malahide Castle

Malahide Castle

Gardens of Malahide

Gardens of Malahide

FISH N CHIPS!

FISH N CHIPS!

 

Leave a Reply

